Disclosure
TradeVulcan develops and sells software for home-service contractors and publishes TradeVulcan Dispatch. TradeVulcan has no reported role in any potential Flint Group transaction and has no reported financial relationship with Flint Group, General Atlantic or William Blair. The reported sale process is based on HomePros News reporting that cites people familiar with the matter; Flint Group has not publicly announced a sale, and the report says there is no guarantee a transaction will occur. Revenue and employee figures are from Ingram’s published company rankings and are not presented as audited public-company financial statements.
Deal status — reported Sept. 9, 2026
HomePros News reported Wednesday that Flint Group has hired William Blair to run an early-stage sale process, citing people familiar with the matter. The publication said there is no guarantee a transaction will occur. Flint Group declined to comment to HomePros, and William Blair did not respond to the publication’s request for comment.
TradeVulcan Dispatch has not independently confirmed that a formal sale mandate has been signed. Accordingly, this article treats the process as reported—not as a completed transaction, signed sale agreement or disclosed valuation.
A possible sale matters because Flint is no longer a small roll-up
The most important number in the Flint Group story is not a rumored valuation. There is no publicly disclosed one. It is the company’s operating scale.
Ingram’s 2026 Corporate Report 100 lists Flint at $403.1 million in 2025 gross revenue, up from $120.1 million in 2022—a 235.6% increase in three years. The same publication lists 1,127 full-time employees. Flint’s own website now shows 19 partner brands spanning HVAC, plumbing and electrical markets from Seattle and Portland to Houston, Philadelphia, Charlotte, Atlanta, St. Louis, Indianapolis and South Florida.
That scale was built quickly. When General Atlantic announced its strategic investment in Flint in August 2023, the platform had seven businesses across five primary markets. The current portfolio page shows nearly three times as many brands.
If the reported sale process advances, Flint would become another test of how buyers price a residential-services platform after the industry’s extraordinary 2026 capital cycle: Blackstone’s roughly $2.5 billion Champions Group deal, Apollo’s $2 billion minority investment in Apex Service Partners at a reported $10 billion valuation, and GI Partners’ reported exploration of a $3.5 billion-plus sale of American Residential Services.
For independent contractors, that is the real story. The market is no longer asking only whether private equity wants home services. It is increasingly asking which platforms have grown into durable, integrated businesses that a new owner will pay to inherit.
What contractors should know
- HomePros News reported Sept. 9 that Flint Group has hired William Blair to run an early-stage sale process. Flint declined to comment, and no transaction or valuation has been publicly announced.
- Ingram’s reports Flint produced $403.1 million in 2025 gross revenue, up from $120.1 million in 2022—a 235.6% increase over three years.
- Ingram’s lists 1,127 full-time employees for Flint in its 2026 Corporate Report 100.
- Flint’s website currently lists 19 partner brands across residential HVAC, plumbing and electrical services. General Atlantic’s August 2023 investment announcement said Flint then had seven businesses across five primary markets.
- General Atlantic remains publicly identified as a Flint backer. William Blair advised General Atlantic on the 2023 investment, according to the original announcement; HomePros now reports William Blair is running the potential sale process.
- Flint continued acquiring in 2026, including Air Around the Clock in South Florida and Jake’s Heating, Air & Plumbing in Indiana, while its portfolio page also identifies 2026 investments in Chesterfield Service.
- A sale process does not establish a valuation. Revenue, EBITDA quality, organic growth, debt, integration, customer retention, management depth and market concentration can materially affect what buyers are willing to pay.
Flint Group by the numbers
- 2025 gross revenue
- $403.1M
- 2022 gross revenue
- $120.1M
- Three-year growth
- +235.6%
- Full-time employees
- 1,127
- Partner brands listed
- 19
- Reported sale value
- Not disclosed
Ingram’s 2026 Corporate Report 100.
Ingram’s 2026 Corporate Report 100.
Ingram’s measured growth from 2022 through 2025.
Ingram’s 2026 Corporate Report 100.
Count of partner brands on Flint Group’s public portfolio page as reviewed Sept. 9, 2026.
No buyer, signed agreement or valuation has been publicly announced.
What happened: Flint reportedly moved from acquisition mode to testing the exit market
HomePros News reported that Kansas City-based Flint Group has engaged William Blair for a sale process that remains in its early stages. The report did not provide current EBITDA, annualized revenue, expected valuation or a timetable for bids.
That absence matters. In private-company M&A, an early process can lead to a full sale, a minority recapitalization, a continuation structure, a refinancing, a decision to hold the asset longer—or no transaction at all. Until Flint or its advisers announce a signed agreement, the responsible way to describe the situation is as a reported market process.
Still, the timing is notable. Flint has spent 2026 adding brands rather than shrinking the portfolio. Transworld M&A Advisors announced in May that it sold Air Around the Clock, a South Florida HVAC, refrigeration and plumbing business, to Flint. Flint’s current portfolio also lists Jake’s Heating, Air & Plumbing and Chesterfield Service as 2026 investments.
In other words, this is not a platform that appears to have stopped building before going to market. If the report is accurate, Flint is testing buyer appetite while the acquisition engine is still moving.
The revenue curve explains why the market will pay attention
Flint Group’s published revenue growth
| Year | Gross revenue | Published context |
|---|---|---|
| 2022 | $120.1M | Baseline used by Ingram’s 2026 Corporate Report 100. |
| 2023 | $172.9M | Ingram’s 2024 Corporate Report 100. |
| 2024 | $297.5M | Ingram’s 2025 Corporate Report 100; 268.7% growth from 2021. |
| 2025 | $403.1M | Ingram’s 2026 Corporate Report 100; 235.6% growth from 2022. |
That progression is unusually clean for a company assembled through acquisitions. Published revenue moved from roughly $120 million to $173 million, then to $297 million and finally above $403 million.
The percentage is just as important as the absolute number. Ingram’s says Flint grew 235.6% from 2022 to 2025. That is approximately 3.35 times the starting revenue in three years.
Revenue growth alone does not establish enterprise value. A buyer will care about how much of the growth was organic versus acquired, EBITDA margins, leverage, working-capital needs, customer acquisition costs, replacement versus new-construction exposure, membership revenue, technician productivity, call-center economics and the durability of each local brand.
But scale changes the buyer universe. A $400 million-plus multi-trade platform can attract financial sponsors and strategic investors that would never underwrite a single $10 million local contractor. It can also support centralized finance, recruiting, training, procurement, marketing and technology infrastructure that smaller businesses cannot justify on their own.
General Atlantic entered when Flint had seven brands. The public portfolio now shows 19.
General Atlantic announced a strategic investment in Flint on Aug. 18, 2023. At that time, the investor described Flint as seven longstanding market-leading brands across five primary markets: Seattle, Portland, Houston, Boston and Denver.
The announcement framed the partnership around accelerating geographic expansion, investing in people and technology, and scaling a national platform while maintaining local operating strength. It also disclosed that General Atlantic adviser Alan Ferber would join Flint’s board.
William Blair served as financial adviser to General Atlantic on that 2023 transaction. That historical adviser relationship is relevant because HomePros now reports the same bank has been tapped to run the sale process. It should not be interpreted as evidence of a transaction by itself; it simply shows William Blair has prior familiarity with the company and sponsor relationship.
Flint’s current website lists 19 partner companies. The growth has expanded both geography and trade mix: brands now cover markets including Denver, Seattle, Atlanta, Charlotte, St. Louis, Detroit, Philadelphia, Raleigh-Durham, Indianapolis, Kansas City and South Florida, with many offering two or all three of HVAC, plumbing and electrical.

The local-brand model is part of what a buyer would actually be acquiring
Flint does not market itself to homeowners as one national service brand. Its portfolio is built around established local names such as Wolfer’s Home Services in Oregon, Village Plumbing, Air & Electric in Houston, Cranney Home Services in Massachusetts, Donnelly’s in the Philadelphia market, South West Plumbing in Seattle, AAA Service in Denver and newer additions across the Midwest and Southeast.
That structure is increasingly common in home-services consolidation because local brands can carry decades of reviews, direct traffic, phone-number recognition, community reputation and technician loyalty. Replacing them with a national name can destroy some of the very goodwill an acquirer paid for.
Flint’s public language explicitly emphasizes honoring company legacies, protecting culture and supporting partner businesses with shared resources. For a buyer, the asset is therefore not only a collection of trucks and technician headcount. It is a network of local demand engines connected to a central operating system.
The difficult part is proving that the central system creates more value than it costs. A strong exit story would need to show that shared recruiting, training, finance, procurement, marketing, call handling and technology produce better outcomes across the portfolio without flattening local accountability.
The 2026 market gives Flint a very different backdrop than the 2023 investment market
When General Atlantic invested in Flint in 2023, investors were still debating how much higher interest rates would slow sponsor-backed consolidation. Three years later, the largest home-services platforms have demonstrated that institutional capital is still available—but increasingly at a price that rewards scale and operating quality.
In May, Reuters reported that Apollo agreed to make a $2 billion minority investment in Apex Service Partners at a $10 billion valuation including debt. Apex said it had more than $3 billion in annual revenue, 13,000 employees and operations across 46 states.
In February, Blackstone announced an agreement to acquire Champions Group from Odyssey Investment Partners; Bloomberg reported the transaction valued Champions at about $2.5 billion. Champions disclosed more than 1,800 field technicians and 150,000 active members.
In March, Reuters reported that GI Partners was exploring a sale of American Residential Services that could value the HVAC and plumbing company at more than $3.5 billion. Reuters said ARS generated more than $1.5 billion in annual revenue and roughly $200 million of EBITDA.
Those transactions are not direct valuation comps for Flint. Different service mixes, margins, debt structures, geographies, organic-growth rates and recurring-revenue profiles can produce dramatically different multiples. But they establish the capital environment a Flint process would enter: sophisticated buyers are still willing to write very large checks for scaled essential-services platforms.
Recent home-services capital events framing the Flint process
| Platform | 2026 capital event | Reported scale | Why it matters |
|---|---|---|---|
| Apex Service Partners | Apollo minority investment; Reuters reported $2B invested at a $10B valuation including debt. | $3B+ annual revenue; 13,000+ employees; 46 states. | Shows mega-fund capital remains available for the largest residential-services platforms. |
| Champions Group | Blackstone agreement; Bloomberg reported about $2.5B valuation. | 1,800+ field technicians; 150,000 active members. | Shows recurring membership economics and dense repair/replacement operations can attract very large buyers. |
| American Residential Services | Reuters reported GI Partners was exploring a $3.5B-plus sale. | $1.5B+ revenue; roughly $200M EBITDA reported. | Provides another reference point for how buyers evaluate scaled HVAC/plumbing assets. |
| Flint Group | HomePros reports an early-stage sale process; no valuation disclosed. | $403.1M 2025 revenue; 1,127 employees; 19 partner brands listed. | Could test appetite for the next tier of fast-growing multi-brand residential platforms. |
What an owner should learn from Flint before ever thinking about a sale
The temptation in a story like this is to reduce the lesson to one word: acquisitions. That misses the harder work.
Flint’s founders did not simply buy revenue. The company’s public materials emphasize leadership training, sales process, recruiting, finance, marketing and operating support around the local brands. Its team page includes dedicated finance, fleet, marketing, brand and digital roles in addition to executive operations leadership.
For an independent contractor, the transferable lesson is to build those capabilities before a transaction forces them on you. A company becomes more valuable when the next owner does not have to rebuild the business just to understand it. Clean monthly financials, branch-level performance, accurate customer cohorts, service-agreement data, technician productivity, lead-source economics, call conversion, warranty reserves, fleet controls and documented management responsibility all reduce uncertainty.
The second lesson is management depth. If every important customer, supplier, hiring decision and pricing decision still depends on the founder, the buyer is acquiring a person with a company attached. A scalable platform needs leaders who can operate branches and brands without the founder in every room.
The third lesson is brand discipline. Flint’s model assumes local reputation has value. Contractors considering outside capital should be able to demonstrate that value with direct traffic, repeat-customer rates, review velocity, membership retention, organic-search visibility, referral share and market-level brand awareness—not simply a logo and a long history.
The sale-readiness checklist behind the headline
- Know revenue by service line, branch and acquisition cohort—not only consolidated top-line revenue.
- Separate organic growth from acquired growth so a buyer can see whether the underlying businesses are actually compounding.
- Track EBITDA quality, working capital, warranty exposure and one-time add-backs conservatively.
- Document lead source, booked-call conversion, average ticket, technician utilization and membership retention by market.
- Build a leadership bench that can run the company through diligence and after closing without founder dependence.
- Preserve local brand equity with measurable evidence: reviews, direct demand, repeat customers, local search visibility and referral volume.
- Treat integration as an operating function. Shared software, finance, recruiting and marketing only create value when the field experience gets better rather than slower.
What to watch next
The next meaningful development will not be another anonymous valuation guess. It will be evidence that the process has advanced: first-round bids, a named buyer, financing, a signed agreement or a sponsor announcement.
Until then, four questions matter. First, does General Atlantic seek a full exit, a partial liquidity event or another structure that keeps existing capital invested? Second, how much of Flint’s 2025 and 2026 growth is organic versus acquisition-driven? Third, what margin and recurring-revenue profile sits underneath the $403 million top line? Fourth, will buyers pay a premium for Flint’s local-brand preservation model and geographic diversification, or discount the platform for integration complexity?
Those answers will determine whether Flint becomes another multibillion-dollar home-services headline or something more modest. Either way, the reported process is worth watching because it moves the industry’s attention down from the $3 billion-plus revenue giants to a fast-growing platform in the $400 million revenue tier.
That is where a large portion of the next home-services exit cycle may be decided.
Flint Group sale-process FAQ
Is Flint Group officially for sale?
HomePros News reported Sept. 9, 2026 that Flint Group hired William Blair to run an early-stage sale process, citing people familiar with the matter. Flint has not publicly announced a sale, and the report says there is no guarantee a transaction will occur.
How much revenue does Flint Group have?
Ingram’s 2026 Corporate Report 100 lists Flint Group at $403,057,756 in 2025 gross revenue, up from $120,112,032 in 2022.
Who owns Flint Group?
Flint Group was founded in 2019 by Collin Hathaway and Trevor Flannigan. General Atlantic announced a strategic investment in the company in August 2023 and remains publicly identified as a backer. Detailed current ownership percentages are not publicly disclosed.
How many brands does Flint Group own or partner with?
Flint Group’s public partner page listed 19 home-service brands when reviewed by TradeVulcan Dispatch on Sept. 9, 2026.
What is Flint Group worth?
No current enterprise valuation has been publicly disclosed. TradeVulcan Dispatch is not estimating a valuation from revenue alone because margins, debt, organic growth, recurring revenue, integration quality and market concentration can materially change transaction value.
Methodology
TradeVulcan Dispatch treated the reported Flint Group sale process as unconfirmed market reporting because Flint has not publicly announced a transaction. The sale-process claim is attributed to HomePros News, which cited people familiar with the matter and reported that Flint declined to comment and William Blair did not respond. Dispatch independently corroborated Flint’s historical revenue, employee count, sponsor relationship and portfolio growth using Ingram’s, General Atlantic, Flint Group and transaction-adviser materials. Current partner-brand count was manually reviewed on Flint Group’s public portfolio page on Sept. 9, 2026. Market context on Apex, Champions Group and American Residential Services is attributed to Reuters, Apollo, Blackstone and Bloomberg reporting. No valuation for Flint was estimated or implied from revenue multiples. Reporting was current through approximately 2 p.m. Pacific on Sept. 9, 2026.
Sources
- Flint Group launches sale process — HomePros News
- 2026 Corporate Report 100 — Ingram’s
- 2025 Corporate Report 100 — Ingram’s
- 2024 Corporate Report 100 11-100 — Ingram’s
- Flint Group Announces Strategic Partnership With General Atlantic — General Atlantic
- Our Partners — Flint Group
- Flint Group | Family of Home Service Companies — Flint Group
- Transworld M&A Advisors Announces the Sale of Air Around the Clock to Flint Group — Transworld M&A Advisors / PR Newswire
- Apex Service sells minority stake to Apollo at $10 bln valuation, source says — Reuters
- Apex Service Partners and Alpine Investors Announce Strategic Minority Investment from Apollo Funds in Apex — Apollo Global Management
- Blackstone Announces Agreement to Acquire Champions Group — Blackstone
- Blackstone Agrees to Acquire Champions for About $2.5 Billion — Bloomberg Law
- American Residential Services explores $3.5 billion-plus sale, sources say — Reuters
